1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Disabled students & sewing machines

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by vicky26, Nov 27, 2008.

1. Hello all,

Can anyone give me some advice.

I have 3 students in wheelchairs in my classes this year & they obviously can't use the sewing machines with out use of their lower limbs.

Can anyone suggest an alternative. Our SEN co ordinator suggested an old singer hand wheel one, although Im not sure how safe something from the 50s would be in the classroom?

Help! [​IMG]

Im new to all of this

2. There is a Toyota machine that you can use without the foot peddle. You can adjust the speed and it is very easy to use. Not sure of the model number but it was recommended by our machine suppler.

Textileliz

3. You want this machine if you can still get it. It's put out by Brother. Foot free. Start, speed and stitch control are all operated by hand. It's got a great range of embroidery stitches. Compact, light weight. I should go into selling these things. We've got three of them at school and I'd swear by them. I thought only Year 7 would like them when they couldn't get on the Bernina's but every year group likes them because of the range of embroidery stithces they do.

http://www.alibaba.com/product-free/101207019/Brrotherr_Pooh_Sewing_And_Embroidery_Machine/showimage.html

4. This thread is just what I need! I have a young chap who is having difficulty due to poor hand-eye coordination and general mobility issues. Does anyone know of any special needs equipment for textiles tech. such as scissors, embroidery frames that may be clipped to tables and so on - I just don't know where to look at the moment.

Cheers