1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Directed time - subject leadership

Discussion in 'Primary' started by love_to_read, Feb 15, 2020.

1. love_to_read

love_to_read New commenter

Hello, I wondered if anyone could shed some light on whether this is normal/healthy/usual practice in other primary schools - I'm an experienced teacher and have recently moved to an RI school (I had a beautifully naive vision that I would be able to help them improve). We've recently been told by SLT that on a Monday after school we have to be spending time on our Subject leadership role and they do walk around the school to check this. We've also been told that we have to run a lunchtime / after school club. In addition, we have a weekly staff meeting (obviously) and a Friday morning briefing before school starts. All of this is beginning to feel a bit too directed. Thoughts?

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Monday: Spend time on subject leadership, at home in front of the telly!
    Tuesday: Run a colouring club for KS1...they love it and sit colouring quietly while you get on with marking, planning, etc
    Wednesday: Staff metting
    Thursday: Run a construction club for EYFS...they love it and get on with playing with duplo, mobilo, trainsets, etc while you get on with planning, marking, etc
    Friday: Briefing in the morning and leave early to get off home.

Two clubs a week and no extra work for you.
    Sorted!

3. Josh7

Josh7 Occasional commenter