1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Diploma not degree

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Wannabsupawoman, Jun 5, 2018.

1. Wannabsupawoman

Wannabsupawoman New commenter

Hi all,

This is a new one on me but I’m having major issues at the moment with my application for a Chinese Work Visa.
    I hold a Graduate Diploma and not a bachelors degree. I have had confirmation from 3 sources, including the head of the university I studied with and a U.K. Quality Assurance Agency that my diploma is the equivalent of a bachelors degree but it seems that this is still not good enough for the Chinese Authorities.

Can anyone suggest anything else I can do to convince the Chinese work bureau to give me a work visa?

I have taugh in the U.K. and internationally for 19 years (including 2 years in China) and have never had an issue like this before.

Thanks

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

not sure if this will work, but have you thought about getting an equivalency certificate from the US? just google it

Wannabsupawoman likes this.
  3. MrMedia

MrMedia Lead commenter

We occasionally get this type of issue. What’s usually happens is I write a personal letter in my professional capacity as the university course leader setting out the specifics. The overseas institutions tend to accept that.

4. february31st

february31st Established commenter

It has to be 3 years full time study degree to qualify for a visa, 2 years is not sufficient.

5. Wannabsupawoman

Thank you Dumbbells and Mr Media.