1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Differentiation

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by Hannadelaney, Apr 14, 2019.

1. Hannadelaney

Hannadelaney New commenter

Hi everyone,

I have been teaching for 6 years after completing a PGCE in post-compulsory education and training and I've worked in a range of settings both permanently and as a supply teacher/volunteer and basically, one thing that keeps popping up in CPD, walk-throughs and observations in the "actions" column is the word "differentiation".
    Please don't think I'm being a duff teacher but I feel that the question needs to be asked:
    What does differentiation in the class room actually look like?

SLT whack it on the feedback forms but have I been given the opportunity to watch true differentiation to take its course? Not really.

Apart from different coloured paper, seating plans, tiered/specific learning objectives and colour coded feedback, what more is there to be done?

I'm teaching 16-19 y/o GCSE English resit. The difference in grades ranges from a 1 to a 3.

2. NewbieHoD

NewbieHoD New commenter

Ask your Head of Dept to pair you up with someone who's been identified as being good at demonstrating this in observations, and see if you can share some good practice and maybe see them in action.