1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Differentiation in literacy- Y1

Discussion in 'Primary' started by chocochick, Sep 4, 2011.

1. chocochick

chocochick New commenter

Hi everyone. I am a newbie here so please excuse me if I am not making sense! I am an NQT and begin teaching in Y1 on Monday. I am so very confused with differentiating in literacy. Maths , I find a little easier but I really struggle with literacy.
    I have been told many mixed messages when planning for writing eg I was told by one teacher that all chn should be given opportunities to write during writing lessons and another told me to do yellow/copy writing with less able. I am confused here. What type of help to you give your SEN/less able when writing? I think it would take ages for me to work with a group and get a decent sentence out of them? What strategies do you use here? How much help do you give them? We are writing captiions next week and I am at a loss!!!!!!
    Likewise, with top ability? What can I use to extend them?
    Sorry for all the questions but I am really desperate and am eager to get it right!!!!
    Many thanks in advanve

2. chocochick

chocochick New commenter

Hi everyone. I am a newbie here so please excuse me if I am not making sense! I am an NQT and begin teaching in Y1 on Monday. I am so very confused with differentiating in literacy. Maths , I find a little easier but I really struggle with literacy.