1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Differentiated objects in maths planning - how to approach this?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Ronson, Jan 4, 2011.

1. Ronson

Ronson New commenter

I'm a student teacher and I'm shortly to begin my final block placement. One of the targets that came from my last placement was to focus more on differentiation, and I was wondered how teachers approached this in terms of the lesson objectives. I've had conflicting information on this - some people have suggested setting whole class objectives, other plans I've seen have had completely different objectives for different groups.

Our course leader suggested another approach - which was also mentioned on teachers TV - is to use 'all pupils, some pupils, most pupils'. For example, to get myself into the swing of things, I've been producing a theoretical lesson plan - not for any actual class, though I've assumed a variety of differing ability levels, and my objectives so far are:

ALL: To be able to count up to at least twenty objects.

MOST: To be able to group objects into twos and count back and forth in twos, and fives.

SOME: To be able to use grouping to count up to a hundred in jumps of five or ten.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Granted, this is plan for an imaginary class since I haven't started the placement yet. Should I be taking this approach when it comes to differentiation, or am I barking up the wrong tree? Does anyone have any advice? I know the teacher I was with at one of my previous placements was critcised for coming up with lessons that were essentially three lessons in one.

2. Ronson

Ronson New commenter

I mean differentiated objectives, not objects.