1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Difference between writing levels: 3, 2A, 2B and 2C

Discussion in 'Primary' started by sara2323, May 6, 2012.

1. sara2323

sara2323 New commenter

I am a year 2 teacher due to be moderated very soon, although I am confident in levelling children for the reading and numeracy assessments I am struggling to level literacy.
    I have selected 2 children for each level. The 2 level 3 children are using a range of punctuation accurately, which include speech marks, exclamation marks, commas etc. They are also sticking to text types and using a range of connectives and a range of adjectives and some adverbials. Is this enough for a level 3c?
    Thanks in advance :)

2. sara2323

sara2323 New commenter

I am a year 2 teacher due to be moderated very soon, although I am confident in levelling children for the reading and numeracy assessments I am struggling to level literacy.
    I have selected 2 children for each level. The 2 level 3 children are using a range of punctuation accurately, which include speech marks, exclamation marks, commas etc. They are also sticking to text types and using a range of connectives and a range of adjectives and some adverbials. Is this enough for a level 3c?
    Thanks in advance :)

3. lillipad

lillipad New commenter

My level 3 children can do all of that, but are also starting their sentences in different ways (Not always with He, or she, or then) and there should be some evidence of loose paragraphs as far as i know.

4. rainbowdrop86

rainbowdrop86 New commenter