1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

difference between TAs and LSWs

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by lillylemon, Dec 17, 2007.

1. Could someone please explain if the there is a difference between a teaching assistant and a learning support worker or is it just the title?
    thanks

2. Could someone please explain if the there is a difference between a teaching assistant and a learning support worker or is it just the title?
    thanks

3. R13

R13 New commenter

I have been working in schools for about 25 years. in my time in the LAs I have worked in they have been called assistants, welfares, LSAs, TAs and classroom assistants.

in other words I can imagine the 2 titles you speak of referring to exactly the same thing BUT equally they may not - ask whoever is using the title if you want more than an educated guess

4. At our school (secondary) the TAs were renamed LSAs a couple of years ago, to reflect the fact that they are there primarily to provide 1:1 support to various statemented kids - rather than to assist the teachers.

5. A learning support worker is attached to a statemented child and does one to one IEP work. A teaching assistant is a more general role and can work with groups of children and do other stuff such as displays etc
    I had an assistant who was a LSW in the morning for Literacy and Numeracy for a statemented child, and was a TA in the afternoon . She was paid a higher hourly rate as an LSW but I don't know the figures and it was 5 years ago!

6. no difference here. There are various names, teaching assistant, learning support assistant, teachers aide, classroom assistant. All the same here.

7. picsgirl

picsgirl New commenter