1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Didn't pass probation...

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Oliviaa91, Sep 16, 2019.

1. Oliviaa91

Oliviaa91 New commenter

Hi all,

So i got a job as a T.A and it ended up being awful.
    Awful staff and SLT's...

I'm a trained primary teacher but haven't taught, the head and SLT told me it would be easy enough going into secondary and it would be my foot back in the door after having a child and a break from education.
    It wasn't.

They decided after a few weeks that i was either too assertive or not assertive enough, there were other problems with other t.a.s apparently ganging up on other members of staff and because i sat near them they said it was me coercing the others to be horrible!

So long story short, they didn't pass my probation and ended my contact.
    Now i'm looking for other things instead and it asks me if i've ever been dismissed, does this now technically mean i've been dismissed?

If so, that's definitely ruined my chances for the future.. :(

Any advice welcome :) x

2. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

Did you join a Union? They would be best to advise you. FWIW l don't think you were dismissed, simply your contract ended. But I'd ask your Union.

3. Oliviaa91

Oliviaa91 New commenter

Hi Frank,

Thanks so much for taking the time to reply, and thanks for the suggestion on ringing my union!
    I rang the union who said i needed the last correspondence i was sent stating my contract had finished, she said if it said i was dismissed then i would have to declare it but it says my probationary period was terminated and i would not be offered a permanent post.