1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

DfE Registration Number

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Nat185, Feb 18, 2020.

1. Nat185

Nat185 New commenter

Hello All,

This is my first post. I am hoping that someone may be able to help me.

I am trying to find out if either a Level 3 Teaching Assistant qualification or a Level 3 Award in Education & Training qualification, both of which I am studying at present will lead to a DfE Registration Number. If not, which training courses would please? Or where could I find this information.

I have tried asking my course providers, the DfE website, the Teaching Regulation Authority and others and am running out of ideas of who to ask.

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Corvuscorax

Corvuscorax Star commenter

the DofE registers qualified teachers, not teaching assistants. You won't need one as a teaching assistant.

3. Nat185

Nat185 New commenter

Thanks. What about the Level 3 Award in Education and Training please?

4. BelleDuJour

BelleDuJour Star commenter

DfE nuuumbers are for qualified teachers only.

agathamorse likes this.
  5. diddydave

diddydave Established commenter

Teachers generally have a degree (a level 6 qualification) and then possibly also a PGCE (a level 7 qualification)

Last edited: Feb 18, 2020
    agathamorse likes this.
  6. Nat185

Nat185 New commenter

Thank you. The point is that the Level 3 Award in Education and Training qualifies you to teach in Further Education. That is why I was asking.

7. phatsals

phatsals Established commenter