1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

DET Level 5 online course help!

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Aw7809, Jan 3, 2018.

1. Aw7809

Aw7809 New commenter

Hi everyone,
    I am a struggling trainee who has to complete the DET level 5 qualification to continue my contract.
    I have been working on an online course but am struggling a lot as I am not all that academically minded (Motorcycle Lecturer!) and writing essay's is incredibly tough for me.
    Has anyone completed or working towards this that could take pity on me and help?!

Thank you all in advance, i'm pulling my hair out!

2. saluki

saluki Lead commenter

Why is it an online course?? Most colleges have teaching sessions to cover DETs. Most colleges have a teaching and Learning sector which observes trainee teachers (and qualified ones) and offers targets for improvement.
    Do you have a mentor who can help? Are there any other DETs trainees in your college - there's bound to be but you probably have not met them. You need to make contact with them so that you can share ideas and support each other.
    Do you have a reading list? Geoff Petty is useful.
    If you can post the essay title or what you need to cover someone on here may be able to help you.
    Essay = Introduction stating what you are going to do, paragraphs on each subject/topic which you are covering, conclusion stating what you have done.

3. Aw7809

Aw7809 New commenter

Unfortunately I have to pay for my course and could not afford to do it with the college i work at (£5400) so had to opt for an online course (£995) and as such am now completely stuck with everyone here making me feel like **** for not doing their course...