1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Desperation with a Year 9

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by maralex86, Oct 2, 2017.

1. maralex86

maralex86 New commenter

Hi!

I am a NQT MFL teacher and I am really desperate. I have a year 9 group that I can't control... it's a difficult group because I have three students that are in "manage move" and other students with behaviour problems in the school. I know it's not personal but their behaviour in the lesson is awful, they disrespect me, they disrespect each other... I feel I can't control them. I have changed the seating plan but as they have issues between each other, they complain about their seats. They don't follow my instructions and it is impossible to finish a lesson. I have reached a point in which I think they don't respect me and those who want to do something tell me that they wished to have another teacher because I can't control them which made me feel awful and about to cry... I really don't know what to do.

pepper5 likes this.
  2. sarah_dann1

sarah_dann1 Occasional commenter TES Behaviour peer advisor

Hello,

Don't feel alone. This can be so upsetting but you must try not to take it personally. Some groups have dynamics that make them really tough to handle. There are lots of things you can try so believe that you can change things. Speak to the students who have said they want to be in another class and reassure them that you will be making changes in the class. Speak to the ones who are misbehaving to say the same.