1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Desperately need reasonable adjustments advice

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by mazpaz, Oct 27, 2015.

1. mazpaz

mazpaz Occasional commenter

Hi
    I am a primary teacher with management responsibilities and a medical condition that is covered by the disability act. Up until recently I managed my job very well but with the increase in expectation new pay conditions and ofsted requirements I am now finding I am really struggling. Does anyone have experience in getting reasonable adjustments made, how to best go about it so as not to alienate management or who to go to for advice or to mediate on my behalf? Really worried I will be on incapability if things don't change and so stressed with it all. Any advice however small is gratefully received.
    Paz

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

How about talking to a sympathetic manager and asking if you could be referred to Occupational health?

They would be the ones to help you here.

Best wishes

3. GLsghost

GLsghost Star commenter

Additionally,make contact with Disability Rights UK and have a conversation about the Access to Work scheme.

4. mazpaz

I contacted occupational health but they won't do anything on my behalf only if my manager contacts them. I've looked at the access to work and will ring them tomorrow but they seem to be a funding based organisation and I don't need anything physical a such. Haven't had much joy with the manager route hence why I'm trying to find it out myself.
    Many thanks for advice so far.
    Paz

5. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Yes, that's why I said speak to a manager.

There must be someone?

6. drek

drek Star commenter