1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Desperate to start NQT year

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by a_lovely_person, Mar 2, 2011.

1. I've been doing supply teaching since November 2009 and during that time I have secured 2 1 term placements at 2 different school. Unfortunately neither of these contributed to my NQT induction due to financial constraints.
    I had an interview today and they told me that although I really impressed them I didn't get the job they said not to be downhearted and a school would be lucky to have me on their teaching staff and they invited me to do supply at their school. All I want to do is start my induction. Is being an NQT with a years experience so undesirable?
    Teaching is all I've ever wanted to do so wont be giving up without a fight but the lack of a job, stability and structure is getting me down. I do enjoy doing supply teaching but really want to take the next step on the career ladder.
    Has anyone else found it tough securing their first post?
    Any ideas of things I can do that would make me an irresistable candidate?

2. I've been doing supply teaching since November 2009 and during that time I have secured 2 1 term placements at 2 different school. Unfortunately neither of these contributed to my NQT induction due to financial constraints.
    I had an interview today and they told me that although I really impressed them I didn't get the job they said not to be downhearted and a school would be lucky to have me on their teaching staff and they invited me to do supply at their school. All I want to do is start my induction. Is being an NQT with a years experience so undesirable?