1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Desperate to leave.

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by bluefinch123, Nov 11, 2019.

1. bluefinch123

bluefinch123 New commenter

I'm into my 3rd year, having recently moved schools, and I am desperate to leave the profession altogether already.

I moved, in part, to see if "the grass was greener" - it isn't. I did enjoy working in my previous school more than this, however the workload was always a source of stress and anxiety, as many posts on this forum reflect. Where I work now, I come home and spend most nights in tears. I dread going in (but still do, of course). I know I am a good teacher and I have been told as much by numerous people I work with currently and have worked with in my previous school, but the passion and enthusiasm of the 21 year old who absolutely LOVED the subject and had dreamed of teaching since they were in school is, well and truly, dead.

I knew what I was getting into when I did my PGCE, but I thought over time that I would be better-equipped to deal with the workload. I was wrong. I am completely miserable. I used to be a relatively optimistic person but the pressure of my current workplace is destroying every iota of joy I had. It's affecting my relationship with my partner and family and I mean it when I say I can't cope. I am incredibly envious of my partner who goes to work (9-5), comes home and doesn't do anything work-related or even think about work again until 9am the following day. I don't wish to go into too much detail about where I work, but part of my problem is feeling as though I am being scrutinised at all times.