1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Desperate to leave. Has anyone changed careers and left teaching?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by sicilia, Jan 11, 2017.

1. sicilia

sicilia New commenter

Hi. I'm desperate. I need to get out of this profession. Classed as an outstanding teacher I am good at my job but I hate it and feel trapped. I've lost all confidence due to school politics and spend hours filtering aimlessly through job sites trying to grasp at anything that might get me out of this situation. Im too scared to risk another school and just want to call it a day and try something different. But I find I'm either over or under qualified for anything that isn't teaching. I have previously worked in administration, retail and child care roles.

I was wondering what professions people have gone into after teaching? Did you find it difficult to make the jump? I'm now in my 7th year and worried that the longer I'm in this rut the more difficult it will be to get out.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

S

victor_cavin, n7esd and designs like this.
  2. ingonito

ingonito New commenter