1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Depression/Sickness/Existential Crisis/

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by redpepper9991, Feb 23, 2018.

1. redpepper9991

redpepper9991 New commenter

I have decided that I need to leave teaching before it destroys me.

Bit of context: I am in my third year of teaching. I have handed in my notice three times ( to two different employers) and have always felt trapped and depressed by teaching. I am the breadwinner for the most part and have felt numb for the past three years of teaching. I have had a bad habit of handing in my resignation (feeling relieved) but then panicking because I fear applying for other jobs/ references/ making a leap of faith into different employment and so I go back into teaching for the stable income and what I perceive to be a solution to the problem. I don’t drink but I have been smoking 30 cigarettes (chain smoking on the way to and from work and having 3 cigarettes on my lunch break at school). I was also regularly extinguishing cigarettes out on my arms/legs that I didn’t tell my partner about as a way of relieving the numbness/stress/pressure of school). I would also never eat until 6:30pm because I knew I would be sick if I ate food whilst in full teacher mode. I was just trying to bring in the income and keep calm and in control.