1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Depression & PGCE

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by pavot, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Hi,

I started my secondary PGCE in September 2011. To be honest it was never something I wanted to do, after I graduated I spent some time abroad - the bursary was the main factor.

Due to significant life events I was diagnosed with depression in November. I have been seeking counselling and been taking medication since then.
    My first placement school was fantastic - I actually thought teaching might have been for me! (Apart from all the pointless paperwork/jumping through hoops). However my second placement (a notoriously difficult placement at our University) has been a complete downer.
    I now realise that teaching is not for me (I have a job abroad starting in September - it relies on me completing the PGCE, so I can't quit). I find the endless reams of paperwork and planning tedious and pointless. I think Learning Objectives are a waste of time and AFL is a farce. As you can see, I'm not in good spirits - my mentor at my school and the staff are very negative and pessimistic. I have not heard the words 'Q Standard' been muttered at all. My mentor even told me that it is impossible for a student teacher to be more than satisfactory. The head of department is just waiting to retire and has no enthusiasm at all. This isn't personal, it's how it is.