1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Demanding behaviour from Adults learning ICT

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by actyler, Jan 14, 2011.

1. I am new to teaching and am teaching mainly older adults (e.g. 'silver surfers') ICT in the community. I want to manage potentially disruptive behaviours such as attention seeking, disruptive extraversion, moodiness and whining so that everyone in the class can learn effectively and get a fair share of my time. I didn't expect adults to behave so badly (childishly?). Most are well motivated so I don't always understand why they behave badly.
    I have considered two possible strategies for developing a positive learning environment:
    1. negotiating class behavioural rules, e.g. putting hands up before speaking
    irectly to problem individuals to discover any issues
    a. am I on the right lines?
    b. does anyone have any advice for encouraging good behaviour in such a group?
    c. are there any special approaches that I should be taking for older (mostly retired) learners?

Grateful for any wisdom from you folk who may have years more experience than me!

Andrew

2. I am new to teaching and am teaching mainly older adults (e.g. 'silver surfers') ICT in the community. I want to manage potentially disruptive behaviours such as attention seeking, disruptive extraversion, moodiness and whining so that everyone in the class can learn effectively and get a fair share of my time. I didn't expect adults to behave so badly (childishly?). Most are well motivated so I don't always understand why they behave badly.
    I have considered two possible strategies for developing a positive learning environment: