1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

delivering an engaging lesson

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by suzetteew, Jan 30, 2011.

1. I am an overseas trained teacher from the caribbean,I am having problem delivering a GOOD lesson as I have not been trained in the UK. My observation are all satisfactory with many good features. My ambition is to be a GOOD teacher with holpe of becoming OUTSTANDING one day. What is missing? What is it that I am not doing? Back home I receive an award for 'TEACHER OF THE YEAR' I have watch other teachers in action and they are not doing anything great that i am not doing, so what makes them GOOD and me SATISFACTORY.( Is their a bias here against overseas trained teachers)

2. I am an overseas trained teacher from the caribbean,I am having problem delivering a GOOD lesson as I have not been trained in the UK. My observation are all satisfactory with many good features. My ambition is to be a GOOD teacher with holpe of becoming OUTSTANDING one day. What is missing? What is it that I am not doing? Back home I receive an award for 'TEACHER OF THE YEAR' I have watch other teachers in action and they are not doing anything great that i am not doing, so what makes them GOOD and me SATISFACTORY.( Is their a bias here against overseas trained teachers)

3. If there was a bias then they wouldn't have hired you. It's not very professional to say things like that. I didn't train in the UK and haven't found any problems except for the masses of paperwork teachers here are expected to do.