1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Decline in spelling standards?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by tennyson, Feb 3, 2011.

1. I am a Y3 teacher and have noticed a definite decline in spelling standards - it seems to be the high frequency words especially words like come said when eyc. Is this just our school or has anyone else got the same problem? Has the focus on phonics caused this? What do you do in your school to promote spelling?

2. I could send you many picture mnemonics for learning some of these high frequency words. Children can then use the different methods to make their own once they have the idea. I also have instructions for making Spelling Folders out of card to help the children learn the spellings by the Look Say Cover Write Check method
    email: margaret2612@btinternet.com

3. I have to agree that there is a severe decline in spelling competancy when they arrive at secondary school. As an English teacher I find myself constantly correcting spellings of very simple words, even at KS4; the pupils just don't seem to realise how important it is.

Mags2612, your resources sound great, would you mind if I emailed you also for the resources? (Cheeky, I know)

4. Hi
    I'm writing this from a parent's point of view, so I hope that's ok!
    My daughter started school last September and turned five the next day.
    The reception class which she is in has a fantastic teacher who is very strict regarding children trying their best at school as well as working at home.