1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Debating a move to Early Years... advice needed!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by star17, May 1, 2012.

1. Hi all. I am currently a Year 2 Teacher. A member of staff in the Reception Class is leaving at my school and I am debating whether to ask the Headteacher if I could move to Early Years.

I have taught in Nursery for 1/2 a term which I enjoyed but I am not Early Years trained. However, I am quite familiar with the planning and assessment organisation from when I taught in Year 1 and had to manage the transition, though obviously will still have loads to learn! I find the curriculum really inspiring and think I could do a good job but I haven't had a particularly good year and I'm worried it might just be a case of 'the grass looks greener on the other side' ...

Does anybody have any positives/negatives about working in EYFS that they could give to help me make my decision?

I realise that the new curriculum is coming out - do you think then it would be a wise/unwise time to move?

2. Hi all. I am currently a Year 2 Teacher. A member of staff in the Reception Class is leaving at my school and I am debating whether to ask the Headteacher if I could move to Early Years.

I have taught in Nursery for 1/2 a term which I enjoyed but I am not Early Years trained. However, I am quite familiar with the planning and assessment organisation from when I taught in Year 1 and had to manage the transition, though obviously will still have loads to learn! I find the curriculum really inspiring and think I could do a good job but I haven't had a particularly good year and I'm worried it might just be a case of 'the grass looks greener on the other side' ...