1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Tom - survival tips please, stressed on supply

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Julski, May 16, 2011.

1. Dear Tom - and anyone else who can help!
    I am currently a part-time primary supply teacher and had a really difficult class last week who I will be teaching again this week. There are at least 5 'challenging' children in this class of 20-ish children, the are P3/4 so approximately 8 years old. The 5 shout out constantly, are rude and unpleasant when other children try to answer questions (one reduced two girls to tears with his comments), are out of their seats constantly and do very little work. I will only be teaching them for part of the day so many behaviour tips about keeping them in at break, phoning home etc won't work for me. Do you have any tips for more immediate behaviour management?
    The last time I had them I started with a very active game which went well, but during transition times or written work they were awful, but as they are not my class I have limited input on the work. In the end I shouted very loudly - 4 or 5 of the boys were slamming their trays on the ground and a few others thought they might join in.... It worked in that they were all very shocked and did listen to me then. I later sent one to another class to stop him disrupting the lesson, that also helped.
    The other classes in this school are lovely so I don't want to avoid working here, but would like to handle this class better and be able to teach the children who actually want to learn.
    Any tips gratefully received,

Julie

2. Hi Julie... been there!
    I pinched this idea: