1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Tom (or anyone else who might help!)

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by chrisa86, Mar 10, 2009.

1. chrisa86

chrisa86 New commenter

I'm currently a student Maths teacher (PGCE) on my second placement. First was a grammar, only a few behavioural issues but on the most part they were easy to deal with.

Second placement, 4 out of 5 of my classes are okay - I have lower expectations of their behaviour but they're okay to handle and so far the threat of a detetntion has been more than enough to keep them on the right track.

My fifth group however is a Year 10 group will constantly inform whichever teacher they have (whether it be me, the other PGCE student or their regular teacher) that they "ain't f*cking bothered".
    They get up and wander around, sometimes to show texts, sometimes to hit someone.
    They'll call out and just do whatever they want completely ignoring anyone trying to help them.

They're a group that are predicted grades between U and D roughly - they know this and really can't be bothered.

They're also aware that because the school is an "All-Inclusive School" that whatever they do, they won't get kicked out. Yesterday the other PGCE tried to raise his voice, they just laughed at him, detentions are no use, sending someone out to diffuse a situation does nothing.

I'm just really wondering if there's any advice anyone can give someone who obviously isn't very experienced to help - I'm supposed to be observed by an Assistant Head with them next week (which in itself is an absolute joke as she asked what period I could do, gave her two for observations and then just decided where she'd come - she let everyone else choose their own!)