1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Tom, low level disruption, but constant irritant!

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by mooncheek, Feb 8, 2012.

1. mooncheek

mooncheek New commenter

I'd be very grateful for any help- I've been teaching for 6 years and just moved from year 5 to year 6 this year. They are a lovely, small class and I really shouldn't moan, but there is just one rather irritating boy who cannot seem to stop himself from calling out, wandering around the classroom during worktime , grabbing other lads as they cross the room to go past him,(all matey type stuff, not meant nastily, but annoying to them and me)and generally lacking in any focus when 'working' or 'reading'!! His work is poor and his ability is worth more but he finds concentrating so hard.
    He is pleasant enough but just can't seem to help it. He's like a puppet on a string! I've tried appealing to his better nature, (he can't seem to keep up any good behaviour for longer than 2 mins) speaking to his mum (she was ok, but said the usual 'he's a lad, eh, what can you do?') and sometimes make him sit alone, which works best. However, I'm not following any proper strategy or plan and just tend to move him or keep him in when he pushes my buttons, which feels unprofessional.

I'd be very grateful for some idea of what I can do-is it mean to make him sit alone regularly?
    Thank you.

2. mooncheek

mooncheek New commenter