1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Tom do you have to be scary to be a good teacher?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by lauraclare7, Mar 8, 2012.

1. Dear Tom,

I'm an unqualified English teacher at a secondary academy with challenging students. I have seen that they can work well and behave with other teachers.

I have no experience and started work in January. I was given until February to observe/team teach a few lessons. I now have a class in each year 7-11 and am struggling! Although I appreciate this is probably normal I would be grateful for any advice on behaviour management.

I am a young female of quite a timid nature. Other teachers have advised me to get louder however I feel when I do shout more they listen less. I am more inclined to try to get to know the students and give them the responsibility for their own behaviour however those in the class that want to learn are struggling because of the distraction. I follow the academy's sanctions but find it extremely hard when it is a lot of the class to pick people out. My board is constantly full of names! (I give out merits as much as punishments which I feel helps slightly).

Any advice for a completely new teacher!

2. For the more 'challenging' pupils I have found that often positive praise (i.e praising those who are doing what you've asked, rather that constantly focussing on the ones who are doing the wrong thing) CAN work wonders. Of course, when the usually 'challenging' pupil does what you ask make sure you shower them with praise too!

3. Tom_Bennett

Tom_Bennett Occasional commenter

Hi there