1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Tom Being assaulted every week and Head not acting on it enough

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by marple27, Jan 27, 2012.

1. Dear Tom,

I am an Infant teacher with a child in my class who is undergoing assessment for Autism. He is becoming more and more violent in the last month, with regular, at least weekly physical attacks on other children and sometimes staff. He has taken to slapping people across the face if he comes across something he does not like. In the past month, he has physically attacked me on three separate occasions during class teaching. He does have an odd perspective on the world sometimes and the slapping and hitting in his eyes is always justifed as he is 'in the right'. He always has a reason- ie .'I didn't want to stop making my model and you made me stop'. (It was tidying up time!!)

My Head is reluctant to give him sanctions due to his 'lack of understanding'. She just gives him a telling off and says not to do it again and that he will miss some Golden time, which a chance to earn most of it back for good behaviour. When he does get sent to her office, she lets him have Thinking time about his behaviour...doing colouring! I plucked up the courage this week to tell her that I didn't think her sanctions were tough enough or immediate enough and she actually, to her credit, agreed with me and made him miss his whole playtime.

Today this child hurt me again- he hit me on my arm and threw a sharp pencil hard at my face, which drew blood on my forehead, all because he didn't want to do any writing. He was sent home this afternoon but was not excluded, so will be returning to school tomorrow as normal.