1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Tom, Assertiveness

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by mmm chocolate, Oct 24, 2011.

1. Hi!

I'm now in my fourth year of teaching, but I don't feel that I've got behaviour sorted yet. I spent my first two years in quite a tough, large secondary school where there wasn't really much support from SMT for dealing with poor behaviour and so I didn't make a very good start. I'm now at a small middle school where the SMT are much more supportive. I am endeavouring to follow the behaviour policy to the letter: making my expectations clear, giving warnings and sanctions when these warnings are not heeded, but I am still coming up against lots of low level disruption, which is preventing me from delivering my lessons. I think that a large part of the problem is that I am not assertive enough. I am generally a quiet person, but not necessarily shy. I don't have confidence issues about getting up and speaking in front of a class or doing a presentation in a staff meeting, but I don't particularly go out of my way to make myself the centre of attention in social situations. I have been doing some coaching with an SMT colleague and it has been mentionned that I should try to become more assertive in the classroom to help with behaviour. Do you have any tips regarding this? Something I find difficult is what to actually say to a student when I have kept them back to "tell them off"/ discuss their behaviour. I was a very conscientious child and never got into trouble, so I have no idea what to say, how to say it and what works! Anyway, I fear that I can come across as passive-agressive, or just passive, rather than assertive. What would you suggest? Thanks for