1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by shaneduffy, Nov 25, 2011.

1. Dear Theo, I'm hoping you might have some advice for me. I am an Irish qualified teacher with 16 years classroom experience at post primary level. I have spent the last 10 years working in 3rd level eduaction. I now wish to return to teaching in the UK but am struggling to even get an interview. I feel schools see me as an expensive option and too long outside the classroom. Would you see this as an accurate reading and would you have any advice on how to make myself more marketable? Best wishes.

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Yes. it's tough for all expereienced ( and therefore expensive) staff these days. Look at the number of people posting here who have UK experience and can't get shortlisted.
    As to how to make yourself more marketable, well can you do any voluntary work to get some recent experience? I appreciate how difficult that is, with CRBS etc., as that's how I've had most of my long-term supply work, but now with re-organisation and school closures, I'm having the same difficulty finding a school myself and getting myself known again.
    Supply-if it's possible to get some might be a way in, but as many of us will tell you that's thin on the ground these days.
    A lot will depend on where you live and your subject area.
    See what others say though. Mine is just one point of view in an area where teachers can stay in post from NQT to retirement!

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter