1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

'Dear Theo'

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Rich_Mus, May 20, 2011.

1. <font size="2">Hello,</font><font size="2">I am a secondary music teacher, currently seeking permanent teaching employment. My situation is a little different. I was torn between a careers doing freelance work and teaching, I have now since decided that I want to re-start my career in teaching. I am currently in my 5th year of teaching (MPS4). </font><font size="2">I am trying to decide how honest I should be with my applications, bearing in mind I am up against cheaper NQTs with less &ldquo;baggage.&rdquo; I am not talking about lying but perhaps covering things up (or at least smudging them), I have never ever done anything wrong but my CV is a little stop and start concerning careers and it concerns me that employers may be put off by this - I am fully aware that you have to be honest in applications, I have never been dishonest but there is honest and then really honest. I shall try to explain in more detail:</font><font size="2">I failed at secondary school, my highest grade was an F and my lowest a U. I had to work very hard to get to where I have - I got into college, spent three years doing a GNVQ and BTEC and then just managed to squeeze into University, I then followed this up with an MA (2002-2003) and THREE years later started a PGCE (2006). During the three years I also had to re-take GCSE maths (B) and English (A) so I could start my teacher training. I did a little freelance work but it was hard to come by and to be honest I was not sure what I wanted to do. I was actually due to start my PGCE in 2005 but to tempt fate I got a commission in October (a month before), blood