1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo...

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by refinnej, Apr 25, 2011.

1. I'm sure I'm not the first to ask... but wonder if you... or someone else... could offer some advice:
    I am a Scottish qualified teacher and currently working in England. I want to return home to live and work in Scotland.
    I have, over the Easter holiday, applied for two new positions (and will do for any others which emerge over the next few weeks) but am unsure now of the procedures...
    1. When should I tell my Headteacher and / or Head of Dept that I am looking to leave the school and how should I go about telling them? I don't actually know how I should word it to them that, at the end of the summer term, I would like to leave the school. I have listed them both as referees, so obviously, would like to tell them myselves before another school contacts them.
    2. Also, as I would have to hand my notice in at the end of the next half-term, and many jobs in Scotland are not traditionally advertised until June, how should I best tackle this problem? I really am keen to leave, and would be prepared to accept supply / temporary work in the interim in Scotland in order to 'get my foot back in the door' up there.
    Any suggestions would be really appreciated - I know that leaving a permanent full time post with no guarantee of another could be viewed as a very silly move, but I really do want to move home. Thanks, in advance.

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter