1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo,

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by blizz123, Feb 23, 2011.

1. As a trainee teacher, I am looking at applying for jobs starting next September. Just wondered if you could point me in the direction of any articles/forum posts etc you have written specifically to help people in my position (trainee teachers/not a great deal of experience) apply for their first job.
    After reading your guidance on executive summaries, personal statements etc, I thought it would be useful just to see how this would work with a trainee or an NQT.
    Thanks!

2. As a trainee teacher, I am looking at applying for jobs starting next September. Just wondered if you could point me in the direction of any articles/forum posts etc you have written specifically to help people in my position (trainee teachers/not a great deal of experience) apply for their first job.
    After reading your guidance on executive summaries, personal statements etc, I thought it would be useful just to see how this would work with a trainee or an NQT.
    Thanks!

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Yes, what you would like is a nice example letter for a NQT applying for a first job, with a good clear executive summary example too. I know, many others have asked for it too!
    But there's a reason for not doing this.
    Leadership posts have very different job and person specs. So the example I gave in the clickables is unlikely to fit anyone else's post.
    If it did, there would be an awful temptation to more or less copy. Or even to be unwittingly influenced by it, and copy bits without realising.