1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo, when to apply?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by rdallas, Jan 5, 2011.

1. Dear Theo,
    I am an art teacher in my fourth year of teaching, currently Joint head of department.I am getting married in august and moving to a new part of the country from where I currently teach. It is important that I have a job to start in September. I am very aware of not leaving it too late to start my jobquest but wondered if you could give me some advice on sending out speculative letters. I have started to compile a list of schools in the area (private/FE/and state) and now have quite a large list (!) but I would like your thoughts on the value of sending out unsolicited letters of interest, who to address them too in the particular school and also any do's and don'ts on such a letter. Currently there are no jobs advertised in the area I am looking for...I am just hoping there will be some soon!
    Is it neccessary to visit schools ? (this would be tricky as I currently work fulltime in a very different geographical area of the country)
    Also, in the "ultimate job guide" section of the TES it mentions a job search timeline for applying for jobs but I can't see where it is located.
    thankyou
    Rebecca

2. Dear Theo,