1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - To Masters or not to Masters?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by catsmieow, Feb 19, 2011.

1. catsmieow

catsmieow New commenter

Hi Theo,

I have recently heard that new teachers have to do a Masters as part of the course. i have been teaching for 6 years and do not have a Masters, this is worrying me greatly. I am prepared to obtain a Masters via OU and pay for it myself as I am genuinely interested in Education but wonder if it is considered worth it by employers?

Do you get paid more for having a MA?
    is it worth investing 3 years and £3000+ in terms of staying employable compared to cheap NQT's?

thanks

2. catsmieow

catsmieow New commenter

Hi Theo,

I have recently heard that new teachers have to do a Masters as part of the course. i have been teaching for 6 years and do not have a Masters, this is worrying me greatly. I am prepared to obtain a Masters via OU and pay for it myself as I am genuinely interested in Education but wonder if it is considered worth it by employers?

Do you get paid more for having a MA?
    is it worth investing 3 years and £3000+ in terms of staying employable compared to cheap NQT's?

thanks

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

I used to wonder about doing a Masters, but was worried it would make life even more difficult obtaining a post. (I'm a trying-to return-to-teaching-after-family supply.)
    But, guess what, a Masters doesn't affect one's pay at all. It <u>may</u> make you a more attractive candidate to employ however.

4. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter