1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo. Thinking about retraining as a Biology Teacher and would like some advice

Discussion in 'Independent' started by fes2, Sep 15, 2011.

1. I am thinking about retraining as a Biology Teacher. I have a 1st class Honours degree and a PhD. I currently work as a senior consultant in the private sector but have been thinking about the possibility of moving to teaching for a few years now. I would ideally like to teach in the independent sector and need some advice on the best way to go about gaining the right experience and qualifications to enable this to happen. I would also like to know what the job prospects for a Biology teacher in the independent sector are like. Also, if you are able to give me an insight into what teaching is like in the independent sector and what I should expect, I would really appreciate it. Thank you.

2. I am thinking about retraining as a Biology Teacher. I have a 1st class Honours degree and a PhD. I currently work as a senior consultant in the private sector but have been thinking about the possibility of moving to teaching for a few years now. I would ideally like to teach in the independent sector and need some advice on the best way to go about gaining the right experience and qualifications to enable this to happen. I would also like to know what the job prospects for a Biology teacher in the independent sector are like. Also, if you are able to give me an insight into what teaching is like in the independent sector and what I should expect, I would really appreciate it. Thank you.

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Well...