1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo, Taking a pay cut to get a job

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by mike1chambers, May 23, 2011.

1. mike1chambers

mike1chambers New commenter

Hi,
    My wife is currently M6 and looking for work. Many schools just won't interview for their jobs due to cost. Can she offer to take a low rate say M3?
    Cheers
    Mike

2. mike1chambers

Hi,
    My wife is currently M6 and looking for work. Many schools just won't interview for their jobs due to cost. Can she offer to take a low rate say M3?
    Cheers
    Mike

3. Hi, I am a M2/M3 teacher, and I have heard (from various sources) that teachers like your wife, an experienced teacher and even those on the upper scale are willing to be employed at lower pay just to secure a job. The people that tell me are those currently employing for schools and also friends in schools.
    It makes the prospect of getting a teaching job much more competitive than when finances were more secure years ago. Now schools are adamant on saving as quickly as they can and by how much they can to ensure their school's future.

4. mike1chambers

So really in a nut shell....She can. It is hard, but in other walks of life they can offer the same for less pay.

5. I'm fairly sure you can't offer to go back down the pay scale actually. A teacher in 6th year of teaching has to be paid on m6. Salaries aren't negotiable in teaching. It never used to be an issue, but i sympathise that more expensive teachers seem to be losing out due to tight budgets.

6. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter