1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo... struggling with interviews!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by islandme, May 14, 2011.

1. I'm a trainee teacher struggling with the interview process - and to be honest, wondering if I'm ever going to be able to overcome it. I've applied for 6 Schools and have had 5 interviews. Up until now the only feedback I've had is that my lessons and interview had no problems, but I 'seemed nervous'. Nervous? In an interview? Really? I've felt like I'm getting better at dealing with my nerves at every interview, but my nerves are still always commented on during the feedback - which is unhelpful to be honest. I don't understand how people are NOT nervous at interviews!?
    At my last interview I performed well in the interview, but totally messed up my lesson - which is worse. However, I managed to survive the cut after lunch and was taken through the panel with 3 others. 24 hours later they called to tell me I didn't get the job because my lesson was only 'satisfactory' and they were looking for good or outstanding lessons. God knows why they didn't send me home half way through then then!? Maybe to amuse themselves!