1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - should I visit?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by weegoose, Mar 26, 2011.

1. weegoose

weegoose New commenter

Hello,
    I'm new to this interviewing/application malarky as I'm currently a probationer (Scottish NQT) and we get our first year guaranteed without interview etc. This year most local authorities have just been conducting internal interviews in order to create a "pool" of teachers for any jobs that come up within the next year. I've been to my interview for that and I feel that it went well but it's a bit rubbish because there is very little prospect of getting a job and no prospect at all of any being permanent.
    A full-time permanent position has come up at an independent school that I would love to work at so of course I am spending the next 2 weeks perfecting my application! My question is should I arrange a visit to the school? Would it increase my chances of being shortlisted for interview if they met me (and liked me!) in between receiving my application and organising interviews?
    It's all I can think about at the moment!

Thanks

2. weegoose

weegoose New commenter

Hello,
    I'm new to this interviewing/application malarky as I'm currently a probationer (Scottish NQT) and we get our first year guaranteed without interview etc. This year most local authorities have just been conducting internal interviews in order to create a "pool" of teachers for any jobs that come up within the next year. I've been to my interview for that and I feel that it went well but it's a bit rubbish because there is very little prospect of getting a job and no prospect at all of any being permanent.