1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - Seems like supply work is the *ONLY* option for qualified OTTs!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by marianna80, Nov 21, 2011.

1. Dear Theo,
    I am an MFL teacher (French) trained abroad (Bachelors and Masters in Paris) with over 10 years of teaching experience. After being awarded QTS last January (with NQT exemption) by GTC, I thought that securing a role in a school would be possible, despite my lack of teaching experience in the UK.
    10 months into my job search, I haven't been able to find a role yet (F/T or P/T), despite numerous applications to schools. In fact, schools seem to be very reluctant to even shortlist me for an interview, citing my lack of experience in the UK (and consequent lack of UK references) as the main reason - seems like references from my previous employers are not enough?
    I'm not writing this to moan about how things are - I'm really not interested in that. My only concern / question is what do I need to do in order to secure a role in a school.
    Right now the only way forward seems to be going down the supply teaching route (hoping to get experience / references)? Is that really all there is for qualified OTTs? Any other thoughts / advice?
    Thanks!

2. Unfortunately not much doing in supply either. Day to day is almost non-existent and most agencies advertise jobs that don't exist either - they just want to get you in to register and so are seen to meet their targets. My own agency are quite honest and are not taking any more teachers onto their books as there just isn't the work.

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Yes, and actually rather understandable in the current climate.,