1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - School Visits

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by bolz7891, Feb 23, 2011.

1. Hello,

I am currently a primary PGCE student and a job has appeared in a school I would love to work in that is suitable for NQT's. However, this school is in an area is about an hour away from where I currently live (I am living here due to my PGCE) and being on placement at the moment until the end of March means a visit to the school I am really keen on is nearly impossible. I'm just wondering what the implications of this may be? I am very keen to visit the school and a little worried I may not be able too! I was wondering if it was a done thing to ring a school and explain why I would be unable to visit and ask if it would be possible to have a brief chat over the phone about the school and the job at an appropriate time for them? - or if you thought it might be worth giving them a ring over half term to see if anyone would be in school to show me around? I know the senior staff of my placement school will be in school at various points during this half term, and wondered if this was a common thing? I know the answer is probably 'give it a go and see' but just wanted a little advice as well! Thanks for any advice, much appreciated! :eek:)

2. Hello,