1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo- requesting a Saturday off

Discussion in 'Independent' started by jesskiboiski, Jul 20, 2015.

1. jesskiboiski

jesskiboiski New commenter

Hello,

Hoping for a bit of advice! I'm starting at my first independent school in September, a boarding school which includes Saturdays. I start back the first week of September. The issue I have is that I'm due to be a bridesmaid at my best friend's wedding on the first Saturday back. I got the job in January and to be honest it didn't even cross my mind then to mention it as it seemed like an age away and I have never worked Saturdays before!

I have now attempted twice to contact the school regarding this request for the day off. I have asked my HOD and the HR manager who I needed to contact to request the absence but didn't receive a reply from either.

I have been given my timetable for the new year and do not actually have lessons that day but I am sure I will be needed for sport and other things so would like to get this sorted ASAP.

Obviously now the school has officially closed for the summer but I know the HR manager is working as she is getting in touch next week regarding my accommodation.

Just wondering what you suggest I should do about this situation? The worry is slightly ruining my summer holiday!

Thanks very much

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Have you tried ringing the office mid morning? Or the HR Manager? More immediate than email . . .