1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo-potential graduate positions

Discussion in 'Independent' started by legricea, Oct 27, 2011.

1. Hi Theo,
    I'm currently in my final year of my degree and applying for secondary PGCE in Biology but I am also looking to apply for year long positions as some sort of boarding/teaching/gap assistant in an independent sector. I am wondering when any vacancies for this sort of thing will open up and how competitive they'll be to get. Also do you think they'll be less vacancies available because of the current economic climate.

any help/ advice will be welcome

2. jarndyce

jarndyce Occasional commenter

Before Theo gets here, this is something which I had looked into when I was in your position.

The majority of gap year posts seem to be filled by prior arrangement with agencies that place students from other English-speaking countries into UK schools. I think UK applicants tend to end up going abroad. The ones I've met (not just at my current school) are often involved in boarding, and their main contributions to school life are overwhelmingly sports-based.

Between my BA and MA I did a gap year involving some evening community work, but I still had mornings/afternoons free. When I had a post in London, I emailed round a number of independent schools (prep and senior) in the area, and though they were very polite and some even invited me round to have a look, I didn't get anywhere: the majority were already sorted for gappies by prior arrangement, and those who weren't were after someone who would mostly do sport, with classroom assistant work not really available.