1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo... please tell me this happens often.

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by alabelle, Jun 14, 2015.

1. alabelle

alabelle New commenter

It is also worth adding that I am unsure whether I will be qualified to be a teaching assistant. I have a degree in Education Studies, and possibly my PGCE also, but most schools appear to ask specifically for a Level 2/3 qualification in being a TA specifically. Would my qualifications be desirable?

2. CWadd

CWadd Star commenter

OK, take a deep breath. Please.

You write you've been stressed the whole course - has anyone actually stepped in to show you how to improve behaviour management skills?

Or did you ask for help and no-one did?

If you've left the placement, you have not completed the PGCE. I don't understand how the uni could award you this if you haven't completed. Withdrawal means you have left.

You really need to talk to your Uni mentor, and discuss options. I have known people who have left training courses, and later re-applied. I've also known people who have left and gone on to have successful careers in other fields.

Being a TA is a hard job - and not terribly well paid in comparison to teaching. Again, you need to talk to your mentor.

3. alabelle

alabelle New commenter

The university were supportive and tried a number of things to help me. However it has been clear for quite some time that my progress was unacceptable.