1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo : Please may I have some advice on resignation/notice periods?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by poppy_2010, Jun 8, 2012.

1. Dear Theo,
    I am approaching the end of my second year of teaching, and throughout this year I have increasingly felt like I am not in the right school for me. For a start it is my old school, and was also one of my PGCE placements, so I feel very much in my 'comfort zone' and I am worried that if I do not move soon I will find it very difficult, as I have little experience of other schools (especially as I am at a grammar school at present).
    Secondly there have been several significant events this year that have lead me to believe that I do not share the school's pastoral ethos, and I feel I would be able to give a lot more to a school that values the emotional development of its students as much as their results. (This is something that I feel very strongly about and has already lead me to decide that I want to move schools when the 'right job' came up).
    There is also very little opportunity for progression at my current school, as all of the 'lower rungs of the ladder' positions have been filled within the last 18 months. Finally, another significant factor for me is the fact that the school is currently coming to the end of the consultation period regarding applying to change to an academy, something I am very uncomfortable about.