1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo, please help - really don't know what to do

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by rainbowsandrain, May 2, 2012.

1. Dear Theo,
    I am a PGCE student and have recently been applying for jobs, of which there is a shortage in my subject. I was lucky enough to be offered an interview at my dream school, School A, next week. However, another school, School B (which is also nice but not my dream school) have contacted me giving me two days' notice for interview. I replied saying that I would be unable to attend (as I would prefer to work in School A, so if I was offered the job in School B before the interview with School A I would turn it down), but have been contacted by the Deputy Head of School B saying that he understands I cannot attend the interview this week and wants to see if we can come to some kind of compromise.
    I understand that in this current job climate I am fortunate to be being offered interviews but I don't know how to deal with this situation. I am aware that I may not get the job at School A and could end up unemployed.
    I am considering potential options. Should I:
    - be honest with School B and say that I am already committed to an interview next week but may be available for interview afterwards?
    - contact School A, let them know my situation and see if they could interview me earlier?
    - do something else?
    Help!

2. Dear Theo,