1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo please advise

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by vincemoran, Apr 25, 2012.

1. Hello,
    I would like some advice on my current situation. I hope that you can help.
    I qualified with a PGCE (DT) in September 2010. I had been in the Enginering industry (Mechanical and Electronics) for over twenty years and I have a National Diploma, HND, BSC (Hons) and MEng in Engineering and Technology subjects. I am 43 years old and live in Yorkshire.
    I had wanted to teach for about ten years and had some experience of teaching as an instructor with the cadet forces.
    This being the situation, I gave up a good job in industry to train to be a teacher. I did my research and was informed that teaching roles were out there, that teaching was a good area to work in and that it would be highly rewarding, etc. I was also informed that as an ex-engineer I would be in demand.
    Since qualifying, I have been a supply teacher only and have recently been working as a technician to a DT department in a secondary school. I have joined 14 supply agencies and the work has been inconsistent to say the least. There is hardly any work for supply teachers at all.
    I have not been able to gain a post despite the fact that I applied for every one that comes up on TES and on other websites. I have obtained advice from every quarter, adapted my applications, written 'cold' letters to every school, communicated with every one who could help and generally tried everything humanly possible.It was never this hard to gain a post in engineering.
    If I was doing anything wrong in my applications I would have realised it by now. I really have tried everything.