1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo, offering an additional referee...

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by GTP-er, Jan 28, 2012.

1. I am a primary teacher in my fourth year at my current school, having taught elsewhere for the six years before that. An opportunity has come up and I intend to apply but am in a quandry over referees.
    A bit of background....
    At my first school (inner London, challenging intake e.g. 80+% FSM) I was Acting SENCo for a year when the postholder was seconded, I then retained some of the responsibility as Lead Teacher for Behaviour and Attendance when the postholder returned. I was also a Y6 teacher and was involved in the year group beating their targets and gaining 'the most improved KS2 maths results in the borough'.
    When I moved schools it was to become a PPA teacher (a way of gaining KS1 & EYFS experience without having to be a class teacher of small people) but in my third year I became a class teacher and took on responsibility for assessment, writing/producing the prospectus and redesigning/launching the website. As the school was the subject of numerous LA reviews my role as Assessment Co-ordinator involved much more than any of us had anticipated at the start of the academic year; 3 LA reviews, various 'partnership agreement' interrogations with the LA and so the list goes on.
    The role I am looking to apply for includes an element of assessment leadership and so it would, in my mind, make sense for the Head from last year to be the person who writes my reference as I worked more closely with her than with anyone else (and the Deputy has a limited understanding of assessment... part of the reason it was such a big job!).