1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo-NQT moving to private for last term of NQT year

Discussion in 'Independent' started by sweetie666, Apr 15, 2012.

1. sweetie666

sweetie666 New commenter

Hi Theo

Before doing my teacher training (pgce) I worked as a nursery assistant/ sometimes teaching in a private school.
    When I qualified I accepted a job part time at my final placement school (infant state school) which was covering maternity then moved in Jan full time to do another cover in the same school until July 2012.

I have been itching to get back into private ever since and have been offered an interview at a private school for a kindergarten class teacher role (5 mornings a week), however when going their website noticed it stated minimum of NVQ 2 to apply for the post.
    I am now worried that this post is not actually an 'official' teaching role and that I might not be able to complete my final term as an NQT. Also I am not sure of what the pay will be??? and obviously I want a teaching pay not an assistant rate.

Any help or advice you have got would be much appreciated

Thanks
    Sweetie

2. noemie

noemie Occasional commenter

If you're not working full time then I have a feeling it will take you longer/be impossible to complete the NQT anyway... It is linked to teaching time, which could be a problem for instance if you are ill for more than 10 days in the term, so I don't see how working 50% would not prohibit the completion of NQT status.