1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - not getting interviews

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by amy_bryce, Jul 7, 2011.

1. I strongly suspect there is something wrong with my job applications. Recently I applied for about 10 jobs and did not get invited to a single interview. I'm a secondary teacher in Scotland and have been doing supply work for the last 6 years. I am a late entrant to the profession (in my 40's) and am now at the top of the payscale for classroom teachers. Might my age and expensive salary be counting against me?
    I have spotted some jobs I would like to apply for (Support For Learning) but feel it will be pointless applying for them without firstly getting some advice on improving my application forms. I am qualified to teach Art and Design but would love to move into Learning Support . . . . . before entering teaching I worked for a few years as a classroom assistant in Behaviour and Learning Support and I loved it, but I'm not sure what to say about this. Will it be viewed as relevant and valid experience?
    I just don't know how to sell myself outside of my subject as I haven't even succeeded at selling myself within my subject.
    Any help and advice would be great. I just don't know what to do or where to go.

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Anyone not getting interviews falls in to one of 3 categories, I reckon. Or even into more than one of them.