1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo, interview differences?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by shughesbio88, Apr 12, 2011.

1. shughesbio88

shughesbio88 New commenter

Hello theo,

I'm a PGCE trainee and I have an interview (HURRAY!!!) :)
    I've had one other teaching interview that nearly put me off teaching. All I can say is it wasn't meant to be and I was quite glad to be told thanks, but no thanks. I now have (what I think) is a dream interview, but it's in FE. I'm doing my current placement in FE so I know the general differences day to day but what I'm worried about for interview is:
    <ol>[*]what are the major differences (if any) between an FE interview and a secondary interview?[*]where would it be best to look up for current FE agenders (all my googles are coming up with older stuff)[*]will I be expected to know how pricing structure for courses works per se or will my working knowledge with how it affects the college as a whole be enough?</ol> I know that your background is more schools but I hope you can help. I have until the start of May to prepair and my head of sixth form has already offered to go through some things with me in the next few weeks, so I'm feeling really positive.

Thanks
    :)

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

I have in fact been Vice-Principal of a FE College . . .
    Yes, thanks for the numbers!
    Q1 Interviews will be different from school to school and from college to college and from school to college. Impossible to say anything useful, really. You just have to ensure that you know about good teaching, that&acute;s what they will want.
    Q2 TES of course!
    https://www.tes.co.uk/publications.aspx?navcode=91